Year	Positions Held and Honors/Awards Received
1920	Phi Beta Kappa
1921	Belasco Cup awarded for The No 'Count Boy
1925	Editor, <u>The Reviewer</u>
1927	<u>Pulitzer Prize</u> for <i>In Abraham's Bosom</i>
1928-30	Guggenheim Fellowships for Study of European Drama
1934-45	President of the American Folk Festival
1940	Membership in the National Institute of Arts and Letters
1944	Fellow in the <u>American Letters of the Library of Congress</u>
1950	Lecturer on American Theatre for the Rockefeller Foundation , Asia
1950-52	Executive Commission, U.S. National Committee for <u>UNESCO</u>
1951	Delegate to UNESCO Conference in Paris
1951	Freedom Foundation Medal for Faith of Our Fathers
1952-81	Founder and Advisory Board Member, <u>Institute of Outdoor Drama</u>
1956	Freedom Foundation Medal for Wilderness Road
1956-57	Paul Green Year in <u>Southeastern Theatre Conference</u>
1959-61	Member, Board of Directors, American National Theatre and Academy
1962	Delegate, International Conference on the Performing Arts, Athens, Greece

1064.60	
1964-69	Advisory Committee, North Carolina School of the Arts
1965	<u>Yale Drama School</u> Fortieth Anniversary Award
1965	<u>Theta Alpha Phi</u> Medallion of Honor – National Honorary Theatre Fraternit
1965	North Carolina Award for Literature
1967	Morrison Award
1967	Freedom Foundation Medal for Texas
1972	Frank Porter Graham Civil Liberties Award
1973	University of North Carolina Distinguished Alumnus Award
1974	<u>National Theatre Conference</u> Citation
1975	<u>Campbell College</u> Distinguished Alumnus
1976	State of North Carolina Distinguished Citizen Award
1977	First North Carolina Writers Conference Author Award
1978	First North Caroliniana Society <u>Award</u>
1978	Dedication of <u>The Paul Green Theatre</u> , UNC-Chapel Hill
1978	American Theatre Association Award for Distinguished Service
1979	Dramatist Laureate of North Carolina
1987	Albert Schweitzer Medal for Artistry
1987	Featured Artist for the Southern Writer's Symposium at Methodist College
1993	Induction into Broadway's Theatre Hall of Fame – Gershwin Theatre, NYC
1996	Induction into the North Carolina Literary Hall of Fame
2000	Named "Pioneer of the Century" for contributions to North Carolina tourism

Inducted into the North Carolina Educational Hall of Fame	2005
Honorary Doctorates	Year
Western Reserve University	1941
<u>Davidson College</u>	1948
<u>University of North Carolina</u>	1956
Berea College	1957
University of Louisville	1957
<u>Campbell College</u>	1969
North Carolina School of the Arts	1976
<u>Moravian College</u>	1976
<u>Duke University</u>	1980